Academy Baseball, Tennis Win Back-to-Back Titles

By Stephanie Sanchez, Communications Specialist Grades, PreK3-8, and Lazaro Fernandez, Academy Athletic Director

Gulliver Academy Baseball and Girls' Tennis each won 2018 South Florida Middle School Conference (SFMSC) titles in their respective sports. This is the second year in a row that the two teams were SFMSC champions.

Gulliver Academy Baseball finished its season 14-0 – the first undefeated Academy Baseball season in school history!

In its championship game, Academy Baseball defeated Florida Christian School 6-0. Will Bettridge '22 pitched a complete game shutout, with six strikeouts. He went 1 for 2 with two runs scored. George Lombard '23 went 1 for 3 with a run scored and two stolen bases. D'Angelo Ortiz '22 went 2 for 3 with one double, two RBIs and several outstanding defensive plays. Matthew Kaplan '22 went 1 for 1 with an RBI, and Joshua Gomeck '24 went 1 for 3 with two RBIs.

Academy Girls' Tennis had 16 wins for the season and was ranked above Ransom Everglades School and Carrollton School of the Sacred Heart.

Tennis players Victoria Hagenlocker '22 and Kathleen Lewis '22 led the way with undefeated seasons in singles and doubles. Mia Suarez '22 contributed with an undefeated season in singles. Maya Gowda '23, Paulina Guajardo '23 and Daniella Chiarini '22 each had great seasons for the Raiders.


SFMSC All-Tournament Team: George Lombard '23, D'Angelo Ortiz '22, Matthew Kaplan '22, Milo Suarez '22

Tournament MVP: William Bettridge '22

Team Members: William Bettridge '22, Mark Curi '23, Joseph Dar '22, Harrison Garfinkel '22, Joshua Gomeck '24, Matthew Kaplan '22, Colin Lewis '22, Brixton Lofgren '23, George Lombard '23, Stefano Luis '23, D'Angelo Ortiz '22, Milo Suarez '22, Lucas Sullivan '23, Carlos Tosca '23, Jayce Townsley '23


Team Members: Flavia Alarcon '24, Priyanka Alibhai '24, Daniela Chiarini '22, Maya Gowda '23, Paulina Guajardo '22, Lucia Gutierrez-Rosety '24, Victoria Hagenlocker '22, Kathleen Lewis '22, Natalia Lopez '22, Martina Mengoni '22, Mia Suarez '22, Azzura Brazzioli '24