Home >
Athletics > Athletic Directory
page tools :
email page print page small type large type

We've Gone Social!

Facebook, Gulliver, page LinkedIn gulliver, twitter gulliver, instagram

Athletic Directory

The athletic director of Gulliver oversees the athletic program including facilities, sporting events, scheduling and staffing. There are two athletic directors; one located at the Prep and the other is at the Academy - Marian C. Krutulis Campus.

Mark Schusterman

Mark Schusterman
Athletic Director

Mark Schusterman was born and raised in Atlantic City, New Jersey. Schusterman attended Baker University and Florida International University where he earned a B.A. in history. He began his coaching career in 1980 as an assistant to Killian’s legendary basketball coach, Bob Kaufman. In 1984, Schusterman was named head basketball coach at LaSalle High School and after one successful year at LaSalle, he moved to Gulliver in the 1985 school year as the head boys’ basketball and cross country coach.

The following year, Schusterman moved from cross country to softball and has coached the team ever since. During his first 15 years at Gulliver, he also coached football and taught world history. In 1996, Schusterman became Gulliver’s Middle School athletic director. During his tenure in that capacity, he expanded the program by adding lacrosse, water polo, boys' golf and sixth grade football and basketball. He led the girls’ softball team to state championships in 1998, 2001, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013.

Schusterman serves as FACA’s state softball chairman and is a member of the FHSAA softball advisory committee. He became the Prep athletic director in 2007 and was inducted into the Florida Athletic Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2009.

R.C. Ganser

R.C. Ganser
Assistant Athletic Director

R.C. Ganser, originally from South Bend, Indiana, enters his tenth year as Assistant Athletic Director at Gulliver. Majoring in English, Ganser taught high school English full-time for many years before entering administration as the Director of Activities. He continues to teach English class each semester to keep his roots in the classroom.

Ganser has coached a multitude of sports. Using his college playing experience in baseball at Valparaiso University and his basketball experience at Indiana University South Bend, he has coached both sports for over 15 years in both head and assistant capacities at the high school level. Ganser also has coached high school girls’ softball, and volleyball and currently coaches  water polo.

“Coaching and teaching are essentially the same; only the venue is different. The lessons learned about life are the true subject matter,” says Ganser. 
 

Lazaro "Laz" Fernandez

Assistant Athletic Director for Middle School Sports

Lazaro "Laz" Fernandez joins the Gulliver Schools family after serving as the athletics director at Princeton Christian School in Princeton, Florida (near Homestead), and as the assistant women's basketball coach at Colgate University in Hamilton,N.Y.

Fernandez also served as a high school athletic director at his alma mater, Miami Christian School, as well as at Hollywood Christian School, the Rabbi Alexander S. Gross Hebrew Academy in Miami Beach and Princeton Christian School in Homestead. He was the boys’ basketball head coach at Miami Christian and the Hebrew Academy, and the girls’ basketball head coach at Florida Christian School in Miami. As a coach, Fernandez posted a career record of 106-52 and led his teams to four Florida High School Athletic Association (FHSAA) state tournament appearances. The Miami Herald named him its 2010-11 Class 4A-1A Girls Basketball Coach of the Year.

Before joining the high school ranks, Fernandez was the head student manager for men's basketball at Taylor University under Paul Patterson (in Upland, Ind.), assistant men's basketball coach at Barry University for Cesar Odio (in Miami Shores), and video coordinator at the University of Miami for head women’s basketball coaches Ferne Labati and Katie Meier.

The Miami native earned a Bachelor of Arts in sport management in 2002 from Taylor University in Indiana, and earned a Master's of Science in sport management at Barry University in 2004. 

Athletic Staff

Ed Potter, Facilities and Events Assistant

Susie Gordils, Athletic Administrative Assistant

Daniel Boston, Sports Information Coordinator

Jimmie Fairfax, Prep Certified Athletic Trainer

Samantha Santos, Academy Certified Athletic Trainer

Heather Levine, Youth Sports Coordinator


Preparatory Coaches 
Fall   
BowlingYary Romanromy@gulliverschools.org
CheerleadingMarie Dieppadiepm@gulliverschools.org
Cross Country, BoysTomas Esquijarosaesqt@gulliverschools.org
Cross Country, GirlsMike Wardwarm@gulliverschools.org
FootballEarl Simssime@gulliverschools.org
Golf, BoysSteve Solomonsols@gulliverschools.org
Golf, GirlsTBDTBD
Sailing, Boys and GirlsBrian Kamilarkamb@gulliverschools.org
Swimming, Boys and GirlsJeff Poppellpoppj@gulliverschools.org
Girls' VolleyballEd Potterpote@gulliverschools.org
Winter   
Boys' BasketballManny Bloombloom@gulliverschools.org
Girls' BasketballJohn Zambollazambj@gulliverschools.org
CheerleadingMarie Dieppadiepm@gulliverschools.org
Boys' SoccerMatias Asoreyasom@gulliverschools.org
Girls' SoccerAndrew (Bongo) Vassell)bongovas@gmail.com
Spring   
BaseballJavier Rodriguezrodja@gulliverschools.org
LacrosseJim Piggotpigj@gulliverschools.org
SoftballMark Schustermanschm@gulliverschools.org
Tennis, Boys and GirlsKelly Mulliganmulk@gulliverschools.org
Track, Boys and GirlsMike Ward warm@gulliverschools.org
Water Polo, Boys and GirlsCarroll Vaughanvaug@gulliverschools.org

  

Academy Coaches 
cassiecraddock18@gmail.com riojo@gulliverchools.org 
Fall Sports Coaches                               
XC Boys and Girls CoachTomas Esquijarosa esqt@gulliverschols.org
Boys' GolfAaron Blank rblankaaron51@gmail.com
Girls' GolfKelly Mulliganmulk@gulliverschools.org
Grades 7 and 8 Football CoachCal Kochkocc@gulliverschools.org
Grade 6 Football CoachHarry Gordongorh@gulliverschools.org
MS CheerleadingPaola Esquijarosa esqp@gulliverschools.org
MS Cheerleading Carla Quesada  quesa@gulliverschools.org
MS Sailing, Boys and GirlsBrian Kamilarbriankamilar@gmail.com
Swimming CoachJackson Leonardleonj@gulliverschools.org
Swimming AssistantCassie Craddockcassiecraddock18@gmail.com 
Swimming AssistantTBATBA
Volleyball ‘A’Jose Riosecoriojo@gulliverschools.org
Volleyball ‘B’Angelica Mujicabzec133@hotmail.com 
    
Winter Sports Coaches                               
Girls' BasketballBrittnet Waterswaters.brittney@gmail.com
Girls' Basketball Harry Gordon gorh@gulliverschools.org
Boys' BasketballJose Riosecojrios711@hotmail.com
Grade 6 Boys' BasketballBraxton Benvenutibraxtonbenvenuti@gmail.com
Girls' SoccerYaneash Donaldsondony@gulliverschools.org
Girls' Soccer AssistantMaria Gualdronalexmariagh@gmail.com
Boys  SoccerRenatto Serianorenatto9@hotmail.com 
Boys' Soccer 6thDiego Riosdiegohomesales@gmail.com
 MS B & G Sailing Brian Kamilar briankamilar@gmail.com
    
Spring Sports Coaches                             
BaseballIsaac Tijerinotiji@gulliverschools.org
Baseball AssistantAlex Delgado dela@gulliverschools.org
LacrosseEric Tano etviper2@aol.com
Lacrosse Jake Kochjaketk20@yahoo.com
TennisKelly Mulliganmulk@gulliverschools.org
Siftball Brittney Waters waters.brittney@gmail.com
Boys' Track and FieldHarry Gordongorh@gulliverschools.org
Girls' Track and FieldChrystal DavisC.davis3@miami.edu
Water PoloJulianne Valdes jev009@bucknell.edu
  


 

 

 

 


    Tuesday, 09/01/2015
    Golf - Varsity Boys
      vs. Palmer Trinity
    vs. Westminster Christian
    more info
    Volleyball - Varsity Girls
      vs. Monsignor Pace
    more info
    Wednesday, 09/02/2015
    Golf - Varsity Girls
      vs. Coral Reef
    vs. Ferguson
    more info
    Thursday, 09/03/2015
    Volleyball - Junior Varsity Girls
      vs. St. Brendan
    more info
    Cross Country - Varsity Boys
      Dade County Youth Fair Championships
    more info
    Cross Country - Varsity Girls
      Dade County Youth Fair Championship
    more info
    Volleyball - Varsity Girls
      vs. St. Brendan
    more info

    Looking for additional calendar information?

    Prospective Parents: Please contact the admissions department (grades PreK3 - 8 305.665.3593 or grades 9 - 12 305.666.7937).

    Current Parents: Please log in to My Gulliver Login to access the complete calendar.

    Alumni: Please contact the alumni department via email or at 786.709.4008.



    powered by finalsite