Home >
Athletics > Athletic Directory
page tools :
email page print page small type large type

We've Gone Social!


Athletic Directory

The athletic director of Gulliver Schools oversees the athletic program, including facilities, sporting events, scheduling, and staffing. There is an athletic director of the Prep campus and an athletic director at the Academy campus.

Mark Schusterman

Mark Schusterman
Athletic Director

Mark Schusterman was born and raised in Atlantic City, New Jersey. Schusterman attended Baker University and Florida International University where he earned a B.A. in history. He began his coaching career in 1980 as an assistant to Killian’s legendary basketball coach, Bob Kaufman. In 1984, Schusterman was named head basketball coach at LaSalle High School and after one successful year at LaSalle, he moved to Gulliver in the 1985 school year as the head boys’ basketball and cross country coach.

The following year, Schusterman moved from cross country to softball and has coached the team ever since. During his first 15 years at Gulliver, he also coached football and taught world history. In 1996, Schusterman became Gulliver’s Middle School athletic director. During his tenure in that capacity, he expanded the program by adding lacrosse, water polo, boy’s golf, and 6th grade football and basketball. He led the girls’ softball team to state championships in 1998, 2001, 2010, 2011, 2012, AND 2013.

Schusterman serves as FACA’s state softball chairman and is a member of the FHSAA softball advisory committee. He became the Prep athletic director in 2007 and was inducted into the Florida Athletic Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2009.

R.C. Ganser

R.C. Ganser
Assistant Athletic Director

R.C. Ganser, originally from South Bend, Indiana, enters his sixth year as assistant athletic director at Gulliver Schools. Majoring in English, Ganser taught high school English full-time for seven years before entering administration as the Director of Activities. He teaches an English class each semester to keep his roots in the classroom.

Ganser has coached a multitude of sports. Using his college playing experience in baseball at Valparaiso University and his basketball experience at Indiana University South Bend, he has coached both sports for over 15 years in both head and assistant capacities at the high school level. Ganser also has coached high school girls’ softball and volleyball and water polo.

“Coaching and teaching are essentially the same; only the venue is different. The lessons learned about life are the true subject matter,” says Ganser.

Everton Edwards
Athletic Director, Academy Campus

Everton Edwards is originally from Sheffield-Yorkshire, England. He attended Florida International University (FIU) where he earned his bachelor’s degree. He is currently pursuing his master’s in sports management at FIU.

Edwards was a key member of the FIU soccer team as the starting goalkeeper, helping the Golden Panthers earn their first-ever NCAA Division II National Championship. Upon graduation, Edwards pursued his soccer career and went on to compete professionally in the American Soccer League with the Miami Freedom and 1989 ASL champion, the Fort Lauderdale Strikers.

Edwards continued to pursue his love of soccer when, in 1983, he began his coaching career as an assistant coach for the FIU men’s team. There he helped the team move forward to a Division II national championship. After two years with the men’s team, Edwards helped start the women’s soccer team in 1985. He guided the team to a 2000 Sun Belt Conference crown, the Trans America Athletic Conference championship, and even earned a NCAA appearance.

Edwards joined the Gulliver Schools athletic department in 2009. He became girls' head soccer coach in 2011 and led the team to an undefeated season with a 29-0 record, winning their first Florida High Schools Athletic Association (FHSAA) 3A State Championship. Since 1993, Gulliver was only the fourth Miami-Dade County girls’ soccer team to win a state championship.

Athletic Staff

Ed Potter, Facilities & Events Assistant

Susie Gordils, Athletic Administrative Assistant

Daniel Boston,Sports Information Coordinator

Jimmie Fairfax, Certified Athletic Trainer

Heather Levine, Youth Sports Coordinator


Preparatory Coaches 

Fall   
BowlingYary Romanromy@gulliverschools.org
CheerleadingMarie Dieppadiepm@gulliverschools.org
Cross Country, BoysDanny Aguasdaguas@gulliverschools.org
Cross Country, GirlsMelissa Sullivansulm@gulliverschools.org
FootballEarl Simssime@gulliverschools.org
Golf, BoysSteve Solomonsols@gulliverschools.org
Golf, GirlsJeremy Salesalej@gulliverschools.org
Sailing, B&GBrian Kamilarkamb@gulliverschools.org
Swimming B&GJeff Poppellpoppj@gulliverschools.org
Volleyball, GirlsEd Potterpote@gulliverschools.org
Winter   
Basketball, BoysManny Bloombloom@gulliverschools.org
Basketball, GirlsJohn Zambollazambj@gulliverschools.org
CheerleadingMarie Dieppadiepm@gulliverschools.org
Soccer, BoysMatias Asoreyasom@gulliverschools.org
Soccer, GirlsAndrew (Bongo) Vassell)bongovas@gmail.com
Spring   
BaseballJavier Rodriguezrodja@gulliverschools.org
LacrosseJim Piggotpigj@gulliverschools.org
SoftballMark Schustermanschm@gulliverschools.org
Tennis B&GKelly Mulliganmulk@gulliverschools.org
Track, B & GMike Wardcoachward1@verizon.net
Water Polo B&GCarroll Vaughanvaug@gulliverschools.org

  

Academy Coaches 

Fall Sports Coaches                               
XC Boys & Girls CoachTomas Esquijarosa runforthestarsmiami@gmail.com
Golf - BoysAaron Blank rblankaaron51@gmail.com
Golf - GirlsKelly Mulliganmulk@gulliverschools.org
7&8 Football CoachCal Kochkocc@gulliverschools.org
6th Football CoachHarry Gordongorh@gulliverschools.org
MS Cheerleading (Co.)Paola Esquijarosa esqp@gulliverschools.org
MS Cheerleading (Co.)Carla Quesada  quesa@gulliverschools.org
MS Sailing B&GBrian Kamilarbriankamilar@gmail.com
Swimming CoachAndrew Cavincavinaj@yahoo.com
Swimming Asst.Kristin Gilliamgilk@gulliverschools.org
Swimming Asst.Ana Gabriela Matthewsmata@gulliverschools.org
Volleyball ‘A’Jose Riosecojrios711@hotmail.com
Volleyball ‘B’Tom Drevynt_drevyn@yahoo.com 
    
Winter Sports Coaches                               
Girls BasketballBrittaney Waterswaters.brittney@gmail.com
Girls Basketball Asst.Chrystal DavisC.davis3@miami.edu
Boys BasketballJose Riosecojrios711@hotmail.com
6th Boys BasketballAvian Rubio soular0801@gmail.com
Girls SoccerYaneash Donaldsondony@gulliverschools.org
Girls Soccer Asst.Valerie de Velascodevv@gulliverschools.org
Boys  Soccer JVDiego Riosdiegohomesales@gmail.com
    
Spring Sports Coaches                             
BaseballIsaac Tijerinotiji@gulliverschools.org
Baseball Asst.Harry Gordongorh@gulliverschools.org
LacrosseJulio Diazdiaj@gulliverschools.org
Lacrosse Jake Kochjaketk20@yahoo.com
TennisKelly Mulliganmulk@gulliverschools.org
Track & Field - BoysCalvin Kochkocc@gulliverschools.org
Track & Field - BoysHarry Gordongorh@gulliverschools.org
Track & Field - GirlsChrystal DavisC.davis3@miami.edu
Water PoloChase Vaughanchase.vaughan001@gmail.com


 

 

 

 


    Monday, 09/15/2014
    Bowling - Varsity Boys
      vs. Belen Jesuit
    more info
    Sailing - Varsity
      Sailing Informational Meeting
    Volleyball - Junior Varsity Girls
      vs SLAM
    W   |  25-3, 25-5   |  recap
    Volleyball - Varsity Girls
      vs SLAM
    W   |  25-2, 25-11, 25-5   |  recap
    Tuesday, 09/16/2014
    Golf - Varsity Boys
      Dade County Youth Fair
    more info
    Wednesday, 09/17/2014
    Sailing - Varsity
      Sailing Tryouts at Coral Reef Yacht Club (Attendance is Mandatory)
    Golf - Junior Varsity Boys
      vs. Palmer Trinity
    more info



    powered by finalsite